Hitchin and Harpenden Constituency overlaps two district councils: North Herts District Council, covering Hitchin, and St Albans District Council, covering Harpenden, Redbourn and Wheathampstead. The whole constituency lies within the Hertfordshire County Council area.


North Herts District Council

No single party has a majority on North Herts District Council. Following the local elections held in May 2021, Labour Councillor Elizabeth Dennis-Harburgh became the Council leader, succeeding Martin Stears-Handscomb. The Labour Party runs the council in a joint administration with the Liberal Democrats.

Three wards in Hitchin have sitting Labour councillors:

Hitchin Oughton

Nigel Mason: Deputy Executive Member for Enterprise, the Arts and Transport (nigel.mason@north-herrs.gov.uk)

Clare Billing: Chair of Community Facilities Capital Grants Panel (clare.billing@north-herts.gov.uk)


Hitchin Walsworth

Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg: Leader of the Council and Chair of the Employment Committee (elizabeth.dennis-harburg@north-herts.gov.uk)

Kay Tart:  (kay.tart@north-herts.gov.uk)

Mike Hughson: (mike.hughson@north-herts.gov.uk)

Hitchin Bearton

Ian Albert: Executive Member for Finance and IT, Chair of Hitchin & Council Tax Setting Committees (ian.albert@north-herts.gov.uk)

Judi Billing: Executive Member for Community Engagement, Chair of Standards Committee and Jloint Chair of Cabinet Panel on Community Engagement and Cooperative Development (judi.billing@north-herts.gov.uk).

Val Bryant: Chair of the Council (val.bryant@north-herts.gov.uk)

A number of other Labour councillors on NHDC represent wards in the North East Hertfordshire constituency area.

St Albans District Council

No wards within Hitchin and Harpenden constituency currently have sitting Labour councillors on St Albans District Council (SADC). Two Labour councillors represent wards in the St Albans constituency on SADC,

Hertfordshire County Council

Labour has seven county councillors. Hitchin North councillor Judi Billing is leader of the Labour group.

Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg became leader of North Herts District Council in May 2021
Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg became leader of North Herts District Council in May 2021
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search