Local elections will be held on Thursday 6th May 2021. You may wish to apply for a postal vote, and you can do so easily by starting here

Hitchin and Harpenden Constituency overlaps two district councils: North Herts District Council, covering Hitchin, and St Albans District Council, covering Harpenden, Redbourn and Wheathampstead. The whole constituency lies within the Hertfordshire County Council area.

 

BREAKING: Labour launches local election manifesto for Hitchin

Labour’s 2021 manifesto for Hitchin and North Herts

 

North Herts District Council

No single party has a majority on North Herts District Council. Labour’s Martin Stears-Handscomb is the council leader, and the Labour Party runs the council in a joint administration with the Liberal Democrats.

Three wards in Hitchin have sitting Labour councillors:

Hitchin Oughton

Martin Stears-Handscomb: Leader of North Herts District Council & Chairman of the Employment Committee (martin.stears-handscomb@north-herts.gov.uk)

Clare Billing: (clare.billing@north-herts.gov.uk)

Nigel Mason: Nigel is standing as a Labour candidate in the May 2021 local elections. You are invited to read Nigel’s letter to constituents here

Hitchin Walsworth

Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg: Executive Member for Recycling & Waste Management (elizabeth.dennis-harburg@north-herts.gov.uk).

Elizabeth is standing for re-election in Hitchin Walsworth in May 2021. Click here to read about Elizabeth’s achievements, and her hopes and promises for Hitchin

Kay Tart: Chair of the Joint Staff Consultative Commitee (kay.tart@north-herts.gov.uk)

Mike Hughson: (mike.hughson@north-herts.gov.uk)

Hitchin Bearton

Ian Albert: Executive Member for Finance and IT, Chair of Hitchin & Council Tax Setting Committees (ian.albert@north-herts.gov.uk)

Judi Billing: Executive Member for Community Engagement, Chair of Standards Committee (judi.billing@north-herts.gov.uk).

Judi has written to the residents of Hitchin in advance of the May 2021 County Council Elections. You can read the text by clicking here

Val Bryant: (val.bryant@north-herts.gov.uk)

A further eight Labour councillors on NHDC represent wards in the North East Hertfordshire constituency area.

St Albans District Council

No wards within Hitchin and Harpenden constituency currently have sitting Labour councillors on St Albans District Council. Six Labour councillors represent wards in the St Albans constituency on SADC, and the leader of the Labour group is Malachy Pakenham, cllr.m.pakenham@stalbans.gov.uk.

Hertfordshire County Council

Labour has ten county councillors. Hitchin North councillor Judi Billing is leader of the Labour group.

Clockwise from left: Martin Stears-Handscomb, Ian Albert, Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg, Claire Billing, Kay Tart, Judi Billing, Val Bryant.
Clockwise from left: Martin Stears-Handscomb, Ian Albert, Elizabeth Dennis-Harburg, Claire Billing, Kay Tart, Judi Billing, Val Bryant.
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search